HVAC Technician, Type 3

EPA HVAC Certification Exams

Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires that all persons who maintain, service, repair or dispose the appliances that contain refrigerants, must be certified in proper refrigerant handling techniques. There are four categories of technician certification: Type 1, 2, 3 and Universal.

Type  3

Person, who maintain, service, repair, or dispose the low-pressure appliances must be certified as Type 3 Technician. Since the Director of Chicago Professional Center, V.J. Abil, is the EPA Proctor, we are eligible to provide certification examination in our school.

Pranas Pokvietis

Sample Questions from the test:

1. How to check a leak for low pressure refrigerant system?
A. Adding Nitrogen.
B. Adding Refrigerant.
C. Adding Compressed Air.
D. Heating up Circulated Water.

2. Which refrigerants have the highest ozone depletion potential?
A. R-410
B. R-134A
C. R-11
D. R-22